Proposing development of a Fibery <-> Obsidian sync plugin (independent, open source)

I’m putting this here, though it could arguably belong in #api-programming or somewhere else. I have talked before about the possibility of developing an Obsidian plugin to sync Fibery with Obsidian (not just a one-time import), and now I think I want to see if we can really make this happen. At this stage it’s just an idea and a bit of funding, I’m not a developer and don’t have a coder selected for this yet, so definitely seeking developer and funder support, as well as just ideas and feedback. I will expand this post with more based on discussion below, but I wanted to hopefully get the conversation started and not procrastinate it any longer. :smile: So to begin with, here are some summaries of ideas and features, etc.

:bulb: So why do this, you ask? I think there are actually a number of compelling reasons!

First and foremost it could be a form of automated backup and “offline support”, at least for Rich Text/markdown content. It also gives access to a wide variety of experimental Obsidian plugins and features, many of which will likely never make it into Fibery natively, but which could be used on the text data non-destructively, augmenting Fibery’s capabilities. The thing to keep in mind, of course, is that a basic initial implementation would probably be restricted to simple markdown .md content. However in the future it may be possible to sync via CSV and access even more capability!

An Incomplete List of Whys

• Automated partial offline backup via .md export and maintaining links (better than current bulk .md export?)
    • Because Obsidian’s native format is primarily .md, once synced into Obsidian, any number of other tools could operate on the same data, which could then get synced back to Fibery
  • Immediate access to mobile text editing support (e.g. Obsidian mobile, but other mobile .md editors too)