"Users" Space cannot be hidden

I hid the built-in Users space (renamed to “People”), but for non-admin users it still appears in its normal place in the Left Menu.

There is a misconception. Hidden Spaces is only menu thing and it is per user. It doesn’t affect permissions in any way.

As Admin, I can Hide any Space, and it is then hidden from my other Users automatically.

Why is this different for the built-in Users Space (renamed above as “People”)?

To reiterate, Hiding any Space via left actions in left menu affects only your menu and has no effect on any other Users.
You may think of it like Space Order or Collapse / Expand status for menu item.

As an admin, I think it would be very useful to be able to hide spaces from non-admin users:

1. to keep the presentation tidy for most users.
  2. to restrict their access to only those views designed for end-users.
4 Likes

@Matt_Blais what do you try to ultimately achieve by hiding the People space? If you don’t want all your users to see all other users (maybe for privacy reasons), the solution is to delete the smart folder “Users” in the People Space. Don’t worry, your users won’t get deleted, because they technically reside on “People” level and not under “Users”. The latter is just like another view. So if you now invite a user to just view one specific space, he additionally still sees also “People” Space but he won’t be able to see any usernames nor emails and will get a “Sorry, user management is reserved to :crown: Admins only”. Try it out :wink:

2 Likes

Actually, hiding the Users smart folder does not strictly prevent a member from seeing other members in the space. For example, via search, a member can query the user database and will (intentionally or otherwise) be able to see other members in the search results.
The user entity view can then be opened to see all basic field info (as well as linked entities in dbs for which access is granted).

1 Like