Hide Spaces from non-Admin Users

It would be very useful to be able to hide Spaces from non-admin users in the Left Menu, regardless of whether they have permissions to access a space:

1. Keep the Left Menu sparse, help users focus and reduce cognitive load.
  2. Restrict user access to only certain views.

Is this needed because you want to grant a user access to a space in order for them to have permissions for the contained databases, but without wanting them to see the space and all its views?

I want to hide all “normal” spaces with DB’s from all non-admin users (even those they can access), and only show them a specific set of “presentation spaces” that just contain views, not DBs.

But if they are Editors, they don’t see databases, they only see views.
Perhaps I’m not seeing the wood for the trees. Is there a concrete example we can hang this discussion on?

The simplest way to explain it is that as an Admin I want more control over what my Users can see in the Left Menu. And I specifically want to prevent them from seeing most of the Spaces containing DB’s, since there’s no reason they need to - just to reduce the complexity of their interface.

I want my users to only be able to see a few “curated” Spaces containing only the specific Views they need to do their jobs (and no DB’s). E.g. one custom Space for each department in the company, containing only views designed for that department’s particular workflows and needs.

3 Likes

Not sure I understand what you mean by ‘views containing DB’s’… :thinking:

You don’t mean the space configuration page (where databases are created, permissions managed, fields can be added/edited etc.) do you?

I think a lot of people have this exact issue that Matt is describing. Using empty spaces with your views to better curate department/group flows, and then hidden spaces with all your databases. Hiding seems like a perfect solution. Until entity permissions are released at least.