Task "belonging" to folder

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Fibery and I’m still in my learning curve.
I’ve used ClickUP time ago but found it too poor at customization and the lack of subfolders is an incredible limit for the use cases.
In ClickUP when you create e list and put (let’s say) tasks in it, all taks belongs to that list so that they are not visible when I change to another list in the same space.

I’m trying to emulate the same in Fibery and adopted the following solution:
Created a Task database with a field that I’ve called “Path”. Every path follow a syntax like ///. Then I created several folders (like UI, Core, UX etc) and to see only tasks related to that folder I created boards and lists and I applied a filter on the Path field.
There is also a board view where all tasks with no path defined are shown.
The Path field is a multiselect so a Task can belong to several folders.
The autocomplete feature of Fibery makes it even convenient to use :slight_smile:

Do you use other methods to achieve this? Do you feel the need for this “feature”?

Hope to read your ideas. Thank you.

Before providing suggestions about what might be a good way to do this, I think it’s worth digging to figure out what the real need is here.
Why do you want to separate Tasks into different lists? Is it because they belong to different projects? Or relate to different products/subsystems…? Or are they ‘owned’ by different teams?
What are UI, Core, UX examples of?
Once you know why you want to see Tasks in multiple lists, then the answer is probably a bit more apparent.

But having said that, it sounds like you will need to create a database to represent the grouping, and probably want to establish a self-relation, so that you can achieve a tree hierarchy (i.e. ‘subfolders’)
Then a Task can be linked to any group or subgroup (and more than one when that’s appropriate).