Prevent Created By user from deleting entity

Do you need the user to “Create and open” or is it “Submit it and forget about it” kind of situation. I ask because:

  1. The “Created by” automatic sharable access templates are limited to the default access templates
  2. You can make a “Created by” formula field, which literally just pulls from the created by field, and use that for the automatic sharing, then you can give custom access templates
  3. BUT this takes a bit longer to propagate (unfortunately), so “Create and Open” doesn’t really work, takes like 3 seconds.

IF you don’t need the create and open functionality, I would combine this with a formula which returns “True” always, and then trigger the population of the required field when the formula changes. Since it was not changed by a user, it will use admin rights to make the run, not the user who created the entity (i think).

Let me know if this makes sense.

The biggest downside is the delay of granting access due to using a formula field, I with we could use custom access templates on the “Created by” field.