Button to create entity in different space

Hello,

I have two spaces, each with one database: DB1 with Action and DB2 with Task.

I want to create a button in Action so that it creates a Task with a pre populated description like “created from Action#123”.

Is this possible to achieve with a script? Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Are the databases related? If not, then the only way is with a script.
If they are related, you should see an ‘Add Task’ option in the Action button. Then you can use a formula to set the name of the Task.
Something like [Step 1 Action].Name should work.

1 Like

No they are not related, so yes I was looking at creating a script but it is my first time creating one and I have never worked with Javascript.

Will this guide help me achieve what I want? . | Fibery

Yes, that guide is where to start if you want to script stuff, but I’d also be curious as to whether it might make sense to create a relationship between the dbs, if only to make this automation easier.
You can even hide the relation in views where you don’t need it.

I would rather have not the relation in, as it keeps the workspace map cleaner and also it is a different type of relation compared to all other relations (but maybe i am overthinking it lol).

I will test something soon and update here!

Well, if you want to do it via scripting, it would look something like this:

(you need to provide the correct SpaceName, or it can be omitted if there is only one database called Task in the whole workspace)

Ok your part of the script works (obv :D) - now i am trying to update the description of the task but it says the setDocumentContent is not defined. What am i doing wrong?

// Developer reference is at api.fibery.io/#action-buttons

// Fibery API is used to retrieve and update entities
const fibery = context.getService('fibery');

// affected entities are stored in args.currentEntities;
// to support batch actions they always come in an array