Copying fields between databases

Hi, I’m pretty new to Fibery.

I want to create an entity “subtype” of an existing database. I can either:

1. update the original database by adding new fields that are specific to the subtype, and a field that will label new entities with the name of the subtype. This reduces redundancy but makes my master database more complex

or

1. create an entirely new database specifically for new entities of this subtype. Adds some redundancy because some fields will be the same in both databases, but each database only needs a subset of fields so each database is cleaner and less complex.

I currently favor option 2, so I can keep my databases relatively clean and easier to manage when I’m administering. There should be a few fields that are copied over from the original database to the new database. Is there a way to do this, or do I need to re-create all new fields manually?

And if you strongly favor option 1 (I assume you’d say I can have arbitrarily large numbers of fields and rely on views to filter down on the relvant information), I’m open to that.

Hope my question is clear. Thanks.

I was hoping someone would offer a quick reply or tell me where to search for the relevant info. Though I can appreciate the high-level discussions among the experienced/power users on here, is anybody from Fibery monitoring the help channel for more basic questions from new users? I’ve attended the weekly webinar, which was like, “sit down and open your mouths so I can connect this firehose” so I figured I’d try this alternative channel. 0/2 so far.

Hi!
Regarding the example above, I can’t suggest a good solution :slight_smile:
As for me, everything is based on the use case, that you have. What is “subtype”? What kind of data are we talking about?What kind of fields are we discussing?