It is waaaay too easy to destroy hours of work in a View, simply by selecting the “wrong” thing (or something that doesn’t work the way you expect) - and there is currently no way to undo the damage.
If you inadvertently change the wrong element of the Rows configuration of a List/Grid view, that can delete everything else in the view configuration:
- Columns selection
- Color rules
Nothing to do but start all over from scratch
For now the only “solution” is to always duplicate a view before editing it, for safe-keeping.
I think another way to make all this less of an occurrence is to add some friction:
- Have an ability to lock views (or have a config mode), so that critical changes won’t be made or that means any change is temporary (until I reload) when done in locked mode.
- In combination with the above, allow at the user to choose overwriting and saving the previous config at the end of configuring.
- With the view show how often and by who this view is visited so one knows if this is a critical view or something hardly ever used, so before changing I can decide to duplicate.
I would imagine that undo is a little tricky.